Changes to the New Jersey car seat law go into effect on September 1, 2015. Here are the important facts to know:
- Small children must stay in rear-facing car seats with five-point harnesses until they’re 2 years-old and weigh 30 pounds.
- Once toddlers are turned around, they need to be in front-facing car seats with five-point harnesses until they’re 4 years-old or weigh 40 pounds. They can then be moved to boosters.
- Older children must stay in five-point harness car seats or booster seats until they’re 8 years-old and 57 inches tall.
Previously, the New Jersey car seat law only required rear-facing seats until the child was one year-old, and they could be moved to standard booster seats earlier. The new law is in accordance with the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics, which notes that the new requirements keep children much safer in the event of an accident.
So, even if the new New Jersey Car Seat Law law contradicts the recommendations on your car seat, the law takes precedence. Violators can face $50-$75 fines for each violation.